PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING September 28, 2020

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

Harry LaRosiliere, Mayor
Kayci Prince, Mayor Pro Tem – arrived at 5:03 p.m.
Anthony Ricciardelli, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem
Maria Tu
Rick Grady
Shelby Williams
Lily Bao – via Zoom
Rick Smith

STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager – via Zoom Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Greg Rushin, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor LaRosiliere called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Monday, September 28, 2020, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present. Mayor LaRosiliere stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in Training Room A, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice, Section 551.071; discuss Economic Development matters, Section 551.087; and to discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074: for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required.

Mayor LaRosiliere reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 6:00 p.m.

• Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion:

Personnel Appointments:

a) Board of Adjustment – Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to move John Peskuski from an alternate to a regular member, and appoint Herbert Wayne Rock as an alternate member, and reappoint Robert Miller as Chair.

b) <u>Building Standards Commission – Members and Chair</u>

Upon a motion made by Council Member Williams and seconded by Council Member Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Ban Alali, Alexandria Chow, Brian Killebrew, Dylan Rafaty, and Gabriel Rojas as members and appoint Peter Krause as Chair.

c) Heritage Commission – Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Council Member Smith and seconded by Council Member Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Karen Bowen, Tyler Moore, and Jane Watson as members and reappoint Harold Sickler as Chair.

d) Planning and Zoning Commission – Member and Chair

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Prince and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Gary Cary as a member and appoint M. Nathan Barbera as Chair.

• Personnel – Appointments

a) Animal Shelter Advisory Committee - Member and Chair

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Bao, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Louise Chen as a member and reappoint Karen Dubrow as Chair.

b) Community Relations Commission - Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Lawrence Bisno and Lata Shridharan as members, Andre Lapeyrolerie as an interim member, and appoint Karen Bellessa as Chair.

c) <u>Cultural Affairs Commission - Member and Chair</u>

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Harry Wooten as a member and appoint Rebecca Anderson as Chair.

d) Library Advisory Board - Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Williams, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Betsy Chan, Claire Cothren, Kumar Nandigam, and John McClain Watson as members and appoint Mike Bronsky as Chair.

e) Parks and Recreation Planning Board - Chair

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Bao, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Doug Shockey as Chair.

f) Retirement Security Plan Committee – Member and Chair

Upon a motion made by Mayor LaRosiliere and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Jerry Smith as a member and reappoint Myra Conklin as Chair, as recommended by City Manager Israelson.

g) Senior Advisory Board - Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Council Member Bao and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Tom David and Lana Mangold as members and reappoint Todd Felker as Chair.

h) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 Board - Chair

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Prince and seconded Council Member Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Angela Miner as Chair.

- i) <u>Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 3 Board Chair</u> Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Prince and seconded Council Member Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Angela Miner as Chair.
- j) <u>Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 4 Board Members and Chair</u> This item was deferred to the October 12, 2020 meeting.
- Campaign Finance Presentation
- Backyard Chicken Presentation presented during the regular council meeting.
- **Discussion and direction re: CARES Act Funding** presented during the regular council meeting.
- Consent and Regular Agendas
- Council items for discussion/action on future agendas

Council Member Williams, seconded by Council Member Tu, requested information regarding adding project start deadlines to special zoning approvals be brought back to a future meeting.

Council Member Williams, seconded by Council Member Tu, requested a discussion regarding renewals and term limits for council appointees (City Manager, City Attorney, Municipal Judge) be brought back to a future meeting.

Mayor Pro Tem Prince, seconded by Council Member Tu, requested a discussion of a council member sitting on the Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone boards be brought back to a future meeting.

With no further discussion, the Preliminary Open Meeting was adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

ATTEST:	Harry LaRosiliere, MAYOR
Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary	_