PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING June 14, 2021

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

John B. Muns, Mayor Kayci Prince, Mayor Pro Tem Anthony Ricciardelli, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Maria Tu Rick Grady Shelby Williams Lily Bao Rick Smith

COUNCIL MEMBER ELECT PRESENT

Julie Holmer

STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Greg Rushin, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Monday, June 14, 2021, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present.

• Resolution No. 2021-6-1(R): To canvass the election returns of the Runoff Election of June 5, 2021, for the election of one Member of Council to Place No. 4 to the City Council to hold office for a period of four years; and one Member of Council to Place No. 7 to the City Council until the May 2023 General Election; declaring the results; and resolving other matters on the subject.

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to declare the election returns of the Runoff Election as canvassed and all votes accounted for as certified by the Elections Administrators of Collin and Denton Counties, with a total of 22,195 ballots cast and further made a motion to adopt a resolution of the election returns of the Runoff Election of June 5, 2021, for the election of one Member of Council to Place No. 4 for a term of four years and one Member of Council to Place No. 7 until the May 2023 General election; declaring Kayci Prince was elected to Place No. 4 and Julie Holmer was elected to Place No. 7; and resolving other matters on the subject; and further to adopt Resolution No. 2021-6-1(R).

- Oath of Office for Incoming Council Members Kayci Prince and Julie Holmer
- Remarks from Outgoing Council Member Lily Bao

Council Member Bao stepped down from the dais. Council Member Holmer took her seat at the dais.

Mayor Muns then stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in Training Room A, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice, Section 551.071; discuss Economic Development matters, Section 551.087; and discuss Personnel Matters, Section 551.084; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:30 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 7:16 p.m.

• Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion Personnel-

Appointment of Mayor Pro Tem and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem

Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Council Member Grady, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Kayci Prince as Mayor Pro Tem and Maria Tu as Deputy Mayor Pro Tem.

• Council appointments to various boards, commissions, committees, and organizations Mayor Muns made the following appointments:

Board and Commission Review Committee – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, Council Member Smith, and Council Member Holmer

Community Finance – Council Member Grady and Council Member Williams

Joint PISD/Council Committee – Council Member Grady and Council Member Williams Comprehensive Plan Review Committee – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Council Member Grady

Multi-Cultural Outreach Roundtable –Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Council Member Holmer

Animal Shelter Advisory Committee – Council Member Ricciardelli and Council Member Smith

Board of Adjustment - Council Member Grady and Council Member Ricciardelli

Building Standards Commission – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Council Member Williams

Civil Service Commission - City Manager Mark D. Israelson

Collin County Appraisal District Board – Council Member Williams and Council Member Holmer

Community Relations Commission – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Council Member Smith **Cultural Affairs Commission** – Council Member Ricciardelli and Council Member Holmer **DART Board of Directors** – Paul Wageman and Mayor Robert Dye

Heritage Commission – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Council Member Smith

Library Advisory Board – Council Member Ricciardelli and Council Member Williams

North Texas Municipal Water District Board – Council Member Smith and Council Member Holmer

Parks and Recreation Planning Board – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Council Member Ricciardelli

Planning and Zoning Commission – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Council Member Grady Plano Housing Authority – Council Member Grady and Council Member Williams Retirement Security Plan Committee – City Manager Mark D. Israelson **Council appointments (Cont'd.)**

Senior Advisory Board – Council Member Grady and Council Member Smith Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 and No. 3 Boards – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 4 Board – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Council Member Williams

- Quarterly Investment Report
- Consent and Regular Agendas
- Council items for discussion/action on future agendas

With no further discussion, the Preliminary Open Meeting was adjourned at 7:33 p.m.

John B. Muns, MAYOR

ATTEST:

Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary