PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING July 26, 2021

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

John B. Muns, Mayor
Kayci Prince, Mayor Pro Tem
Maria Tu, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem
Anthony Ricciardelli
Rick Grady
Shelby Williams
Julie Holmer
Rick Smith

STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Greg Rushin, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Monday, July 26, 2021, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present. Mayor Muns then stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in Training Room A, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to discuss Economic Development matters, Section 551.087; to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice, Section 551.071; and discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:02 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 6:20 p.m.

• Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion Personnel Reappointments/Appointment-

a) Board of Adjustment

Upon a motion made by Council Member Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Grady, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Colleen Aguilar-Epstein, Conner Barron and George Marks.

b) Building Standards Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Williams and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Ed Acklin.

c) Heritage Commission - reappointments and appointment of interim member

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Nancy Baldwin, Harold Sickler and John "Dub" Spencer.

d) Planning & Zoning Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to table the item to a future date.

• Personnel - Reappointments

a) Animal Shelter Advisory Committee

Upon a motion made by Council Member Ricciardelli and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Karen Dubrow and Akm Huq.

b) Civil Service Commission

No reappointments were made to the Civil Service Commission.

c) Community Relations Commission

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Prince and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Kate Garrison, Andre Lapeyrolerie, Johnny Tseng and Semida Viocu.

d) Cultural Affairs Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Holmer and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Rebecca Anderson, Fabian Gordon and Misty Hoyt.

e) Library Advisory Board

Upon a motion made by Council Member Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Williams, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Yeou Dong, Adam Griffith and Lan He.

f) Parks and Recreation Planning Board

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Lauriston Crockett, Scott Goebel, Neal Liang and Hayden Padgett.

g) Plano Housing Authority

Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Council Member Grady, the Council voted 8-0 to table the item to the August 9, 2021 meeting.

h) Retirement Security Plan Committee

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Prince and seconded by Council Member Grady, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Abby Owens, Karen Rhodes-Whitley and Sean Sullivan as recommended by City Manager Israelson.

i) Senior Advisory Board

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Steven Bolen and Carole Greisdorf.

j) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 & 3 Boards

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro tem Prince and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Liz Lansing, Martha Oren, Corey Reinaker, Jason Tyra and Roy Wilshire.

• Consideration of 2022 Council Meeting Dates

The Council expressed concurrence to approve the dates as presented.

• Discussion and direction re: Code of Conduct- related to endorsements during elections and campaign donation recusal

The Council expressed concurrence to bring back changes to a future meeting for consideration.

• Noise Ordinance Update – Duane Bates, Fehmi Karahan, Don Mann spoke in support of regulating music. Joseph Magliarditi representing Legacy Hall spoke to efforts of accommodation for the neighbors. Continuation of the discussion occurred during the regular meeting.

- Residential Lighting Update— this item was discussed during the regular meeting.
- Consent and Regular Agendas this item was discussed during the regular meeting.
- Council items for discussion/action on future agendas this item was discussed during the regular meeting.

With no further discussion, the Preliminary Open Meeting was adjourned at 7:26 p.m.

John B. Muns, MAYOR	
_	
	John B. Wuns, WATOK