## PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING June 27, 2022

#### COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

John B. Muns, Mayor
Kayci Prince, Mayor Pro Tem
Maria Tu, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem
Anthony Ricciardelli – arrived at 5:01 p.m.
Rick Grady
Shelby Williams – arrived at 5:01 p.m.
Julie Holmer
Rick Smith

#### STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Monday, June 27, 2022, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present. Mayor Muns then stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in Training Room A, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice, Section 551.071; discuss Economic Development matters, Section 551.087; discuss Real Estate matters, Section 551.072; and discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:01 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 6:17 p.m.

# • Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion Personnel – Appointments/Reappointments

#### a) Mayor Pro Tem

Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Kayci Prince.

#### b) Deputy Mayor Pro Tem

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Maria Tu.

## c) Board of Adjustment

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Wayne Rock and address the remaining reappointments at the July 25, 2022 meeting.

### d) Building Standards Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Williams and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to table the item to the July 25, 2022 meeting.

## e) Heritage Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Smith and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Nayyer Ale-Rasool, Karen Bowen, and Jane Watson.

#### f) Planning & Zoning Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Gary Cary and David Downs.

#### • Personnel - Reappointments

#### a) Animal Shelter Advisory Committee

Upon a motion made by Council Member Smith and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Jamey Cantrell, Louise Chen and Tammy Chow-Hayes.

#### b) Civil Service Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Joseph Parks as recommended by City Manager Israelson.

## c) Community Relations Commission

Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Prince and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Tom Adair, Stephanie Mace, Vidal Quintanilla, and Amit Warkad.

#### d) Cultural Arts Commission

Upon a motion made by Council Member Holmer and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Elisa Klein and Emily Moore.

## e) Library Advisory Board

Upon a motion made by Council Member Ricciardelli and seconded by Council Member Williams, the Council voted 8-0 to table the item to the July 25, 2022 meeting.

#### f) Parks and Recreation Planning Board

Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Ying Cao.

# g) Plano Housing Authority

Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Council Member Ricciardelli, the Council voted 8-0 to not reappoint members with expiring terms.

#### h) Retirement Security Plan Committee

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Chris Biggerstaff, Jerry Smith and Jenny Zeilfelder as recommended by City Manager Israelson.

#### i) Senior Advisory Board

Upon a motion made by Council Member Grady and seconded by Council Member Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Paula Boudreaux and Mary Jacobs.

#### j) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 4 Board

Upon a motion made by Council Member Williams and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint David Baertsch, Richard Coe, John Donovan, Brian Duchouquette, Greg Hasty, Ken Hatch, Jonathon Hetzel, Douglas Reece, Shep Stahel and Donna Straker and reappoint Shep Stahel as chair.

- Oncor Electric Delivery Presentation
- Short Term Rental Presentation

This item was discussed in the regular meeting.

- New Business:
  - a) Discussion and possible direction about volunteering program changes This item was discussed in the regular meeting.
- Consent and Regular Agendas

This item was discussed in the regular meeting.

• Council items for discussion/action on future agendas

This item was discussed in the regular meeting.

With no further discussion, the Preliminary Open Meeting was adjourned at 6:57 p.m.

ATTEST:	John B. Muns, MAYOR	
Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary		