# PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING May 28, 2024

### **COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT**

John B. Muns, Mayor Kayci Prince, Mayor Pro Tem Maria Tu, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Anthony Ricciardelli arrived at 5:01 p.m. Rick Horne Shelby Williams arrived at 5:41 p.m. Julie Holmer arrived at 5:01 p.m. Rick Smith

#### STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager LaShon Ross, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 28, 2024, in the Program Room of the Davis Library, 7501-B Independence Parkway and via videoconference. A quorum was present. Mayor Muns then stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in the Wes Hardy Room of the Joint Use Facility, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice, Section 551.071; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:08 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 5:42 p.m. Councilmember Williams stepped away from the dais at 6:06 p.m. and returned at 6:20 p.m. and also stepped away from 6:37 p.m. to 6:58 p.m. Councilmember Horne stepped away from the dais at 6:34 p.m. and returned at 6:36 p.m.

- Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion
- 2025 Bond Referendum Update Citizen Committee and Preliminary Project List The Council expressed concurrence to move forward with the 2025 Bond Referendum Citizen Advisory Committee.
- **Discussion and direction re: Zoning/Subdivision Ordinance Stakeholder Committee**The Council expressed concurrence to move forward with the Zoning/Subdivision
  Ordinance Stakeholder Committee as presented.
- Compensation Philosophy & Structure Study
- Retail Revitalization Program Update
- Discussion and direction re the use of hotel/motel occupancy tax for grants and events Council expressed concurrence to move forward with allocations as presented.
- Council appointments to various boards, commissions, committees, and organizations (Exhibit "A")
- Consent and Regular Agendas This item was addressed during the regular meeting.

<ul> <li>Council items for discussion/act regular meeting.</li> </ul>	tion on future agendas— This item was addressed during the
With no further discussion, the P	reliminary Open Meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.
	John B. Muns, MAYOR
ATTEST:	John B. Wans, WITTON
Lisa C. Henderson, CITY SECRETARY	7

#### Exhibit "A"

# CITY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO VARIOUS COMMITTEES AND ORGANIZATIONS

Airport Master Plan Planning Advisory Committee – Councilmember Horne

Collin County Mayors Committee – Mayor Muns

Council Legislative Committee – Mayor Muns, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, and Councilmember Holmer

Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition – Mayor Muns

Designation of Official North Central Texas Council of Governments Voting Representative - Mayor Muns

Metroplex Mayors Committee - Mayor Muns, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu (Alternate)

North Texas Commission – Mayor Muns

Plano Health Facilities Development Corporation – Mayor Pro Tem Prince, Councilmember Holmer, and Councilmember Horne

Regional Transportation Council – NCTCOG – Mayor Muns and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu (Alternate)

Emergency Preparedness Planning Council (EPPC) – NCTCOG – Councilmember Smith and Councilmember Ricciardelli (Alternate)

# **CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES**

Board and Commission Review Committee – Mayor Pro Tem Prince, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu, and Councilmember Smith

Community Finance – Councilmember Ricciardelli and Councilmember Williams

Joint PISD/Council Committee – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Councilmember Holmer

### ADHOC/ROUNDTABLES/TASK FORCES/SUB-COMMITTEES

Multi-Cultural Outreach Roundtable – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Councilmember Holmer

#### Exhibit "A"

# COUNCIL LIAISONS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Animal Shelter Advisory Committee – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Councilmember Holmer Board of Adjustment - Councilmember Ricciardelli and Councilmember Horne Building Standards Commission - Councilmember Ricciardelli and Councilmember Williams Civil Service Commission - City Manager Mark D. Israelson Collin County Appraisal District Board – Councilmember Williams and Councilmember Horne Community Relations Commission – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Councilmember Smith Cultural Arts Commission - Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Councilmember Holmer DART Board of Directors Appointees – Paul Wageman and M. Nathan Barbera Heritage Commission – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Councilmember Ricciardelli Library Advisory Board – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Councilmember Holmer North Texas Municipal Water District Board – Councilmember Smith and Councilmember Horne Parks and Recreation Planning Board - Councilmember Holmer and Councilmember Horne Planning and Zoning Commission – Mayor Pro Tem Prince and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu Plano Housing Authority – Councilmember Ricciardelli and Councilmember Williams Retirement Security Plan Committee – City Manager Mark D. Israelson Senior Advisory Board – Councilmember Smith and Councilmember Holmer

Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 and No. 3 Boards – Councilmember Smith and Councilmember Williams

Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 4 Board – Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Tu and Councilmember Ricciardelli

Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 5 Board – Councilmember Smith and Councilmember Horne