# PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING October 14, 2024

#### **COUNCILMEMBERS PRESENT**

John B. Muns, Mayor Maria Tu, Mayor Pro Tem Julie Holmer, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem – via Zoom Anthony Ricciardelli – arrived at 5:32 p.m. Kayci Prince Shelby Williams Rick Smith

### **COUNCILMEMBERS ABSENT**

Rick Horne

#### STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Sam Greif, Deputy City Manager LaShon Ross, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m., Monday, October 14, 2024, in the Program Room of the Davis Library, 7501-B Independence Parkway and via videoconference. A quorum was present. Mayor Muns then stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in the Children's Program Room of the Davis Library, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice and discuss Litigation, Section 551.071; discuss Economic Development, Section 551.087; and discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:35 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 6:35 p.m. Mayor Pro Tem Tu arrived at 6:36 p.m. Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer did not return to the meeting.

# Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion Personnel - Appointments:

- a) Board of Adjustment Member and/or Alternate Member
  Upon a motion made by Councilmember Ricciardelli and seconded by Mayor Muns, the
  Council voted 6-0 to move Jose Figueroa to a regular member and appoint Staci Weaver
  as an alternate member.
- b) Building Standards Commission Members, Alternate Members and Chair Upon a motion made by and amended by Councilmember Ricciardelli and seconded by Councilmember Williams, the Council voted 6-0 to appoint Elle Cole (exp. 10/25), John Egan (exp. 10/26), and Lawrence Chan (exp. 10/26) as regular members; Robert Thomas (exp. 10/25) and Ali Attar (exp. 10/26) as alternate members; and reappoint Ed Acklin as Chair.

# • Personnel - Appointments

# a) Retirement Security Plan Committee - Members and Chair

Upon a motion made by Councilmember Prince and seconded by Councilmember Ricciardelli, the Council voted 6-0 to appoint Michael Mendenhall (citizen) and Rachel Patterson (employee) as members and reappoint Karen Rhodes-Whitley as Chair, as recommended by City Manager Israelson.

# b) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 and 3 Boards - Chair

Upon a motion made by Councilmember Williams and seconded by Councilmember Smith, the Council voted 6-0 to reappoint Corey Reinaker as Chair.

## c) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 5 - Chair

Upon a motion made by Councilmember Smith and seconded by Mayor Muns, the Council voted 6-0 to table the appointment to the October 28, 2024, Council Meeting.

### • Discussion and direction re: Legislative Program

Council provided direction to consider adding local control regarding land use, including STR's; broadening permissible Hotel Occupancy Tax uses including sport tournament activities and focusing on economic development; amendments to the Public Funds Investment Act; water and energy reliability; apprise Council if SB 147 or something similar is filed; and more frequent briefings to Council.

# • Discussion and direction re: extra duty solutions for the Police Department

This item was moved to the October 28, 2024, Council Meeting

# • Consent and Regular Agendas

Consent Item "N" (staff)

# • Council items for discussion/action on future agendas

Enforcement of the Boarding House ordinance (Ricciardelli/Williams) Terminology used by the City for holidays (Williams/Ricciardelli)

With no further discussion, the Preliminary Open Meeting adjourned at 6:59 p.m.

	John B. Muns, MAYOR	
ATTEST:		
Lisa C. Henderson, CITY SECRETARY		