PLANO CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL SESSION March 14, 2025

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

John B. Muns, Mayor Maria Tu, Mayor Pro Tem Julie Holmer, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Anthony Ricciardelli Rick Horne Kayci Prince Shelby Williams Rick Smith

STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Sam Greif, Deputy City Manager LaShon Ross, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the Special Session to order at 4:00 p.m., Friday, March 14, 2025, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present.

Items for Individual Consideration

Acceptance of the resignation of a Council Member and adoption of Ordinance No. 2025-3-3 to call a Special Election to Fill a Vacancy to be held May 3, 2025 for the purpose of electing one (1) Member of Council, Place No. 5, to fill an unexpired term until the May 2027 election and, if needed, any subsequent runoff election; designating polling locations for such Special Election; ordering notices of election to be given as prescribed by law in connection with such election; and providing an effective date. (Item "1")

John Stafford spoke to the cost savings of holding the election on May 3, 2025, and options for the length of filing period.

MOTION: Upon a motion made by Councilmember Horne and seconded by Councilmember Prince, the Council voted 8-0 to accept the resignation of a Council Member and adopt an Ordinance to call a Special Election to Fill a Vacancy to be held May 3, 2025 for the purpose of electing one (1) Member of Council, Place No. 5, to fill an unexpired term until the May 2027 election and, if needed, any subsequent runoff election; designating polling locations for such Special Election; ordering notices of election to be given as prescribed by law in connection with such election; and providing an effective date; and further to adopt Ordinance No. 2025-3-3.

Resolution No. 2025-3-4(R): To appoint an interim board member to serve on the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Authority (DART) Board of Directors as provided in Chapter 452 of the Texas Transportation Code; and providing an effective date. (Item "2")

MOTION: Upon a motion made by Councilmember Williams and seconded by Councilmember Smith, the Council voted 8-0 to appoint Councilmember Ricciardelli as an interim board member to serve on the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Authority (DART) Board of Directors as provided in Chapter 452 of the Texas Transportation Code; and providing an effective date; and further to adopt Resolution No. 2025-3-4(R).

Mayor Muns stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in the Closed Session Room, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 4:12 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Special Session at 4:55 p.m.

Nothing further was discussed. Mayor Muns adjourned the meeting at 4:56 p.m.

ATTEST:

John B. Muns, MAYOR

Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary