# PLANO CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY OPEN MEETING June 23, 2025

## **COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT**

John B. Muns, Mayor
Maria Tu, Mayor Pro Tem
Julie Holmer, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem
Bob Kehr
Rick Horne
Chris Krupa Downs
Steve Lavine
Vidal Quintanilla Jr.

## STAFF PRESENT

Mark Israelson, City Manager Jack Carr, Deputy City Manager Shelli Siemer, Deputy City Manager Sam Greif, Deputy City Manager LaShon Ross, Deputy City Manager Paige Mims, City Attorney Lisa C. Henderson, City Secretary

Mayor Muns called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m., Monday, June 23, 2025, in the Senator Florence Shapiro Council Chambers of the Plano Municipal Center, 1520 K Avenue and via videoconference. A quorum was present.

Mayor Muns stated the Council would retire into Executive Session, in Training Room A, in compliance with Chapter 551, Government Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated in order to consult with an attorney to receive Legal Advice and Litigation, Section 551.071; discuss Real Estate matters, Section 551.072; discuss Economic Development matters, Section 551.087; and discuss Personnel matters, Section 551.074; for which a certified agenda will be kept in the office of the City Secretary for a period of two years as required. The Council convened into Executive Session at 5:01 p.m.

Mayor Muns reconvened the meeting back into the Preliminary Open Meeting at 6:30 p.m.

# • Consideration and action resulting from Executive Session discussion Personnel –

# **Reappointments:**

- a) Board of Adjustment
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Horne and seconded by Councilmember Kehr, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Connor Barron, Mansoor Karimi, Karen Bellessa, Jose Figueroa, and Michael Pirek.
- b) Building Standards Commission Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Tu and seconded by Councilmember Kehr, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Mark Malouf, Elle Cole, and Robert Thomas.
- c) Heritage Commission
   Upon a motion made by Mayor Pro Tem Tu and seconded by Councilmember Downs, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Debbie Barrios.

## d) Planning & Zoning Commission

Upon a motion made by Councilmember Horne and seconded by Councilmember Downs, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Bennett Ratliff, Michael Bronsky, Tosan Olley, and Tianle Tong.

## Personnel -

# Reappointments

- a) Animal Shelter Advisory Committee
  - Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer and seconded by Councilmember Lavine, the Council voted 8-0 to table the item to the July 28, 2025, council meeting.
- b) Civil Service Commission
  - Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Councilmember Horne, the Council voted 8-0 to not reappoint members with expiring terms as recommended by City Manager Israelson.
- c) Community Relations Commission
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Quintanilla and seconded by Councilmember Downs, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Semida Voicu, Priscilla Brown, Magesh Kandavadivel, and Richard Grady.
- d) Cultural Arts Commission
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Lavine and seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Tu, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Diane Goebel, Sherry LeVine, and Marvelee Chen.
- e) Library Advisory Board
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Quintanilla and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer, the Council voted 8-0 to not reappoint members with expiring terms.
- f) Parks and Recreation Planning Board
  - Upon a motion made by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer and seconded by Councilmember Horne, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Lois Mansfield and Mark Phariss.
- g) Plano Housing Authority
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Lavine and seconded by Councilmember Kehr, the Council voted 8-0 to not reappoint members with expiring terms.
- h) Retirement Security Plan Committee
  - Upon a motion made by Mayor Muns and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Karen Rhodes-Whitley and Abby Owens as recommended by City Manager Israelson.
- i) Senior Advisory Board
  - Upon a motion made by Councilmember Lavine and seconded by Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Holmer, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint William Case and Faryal Virk.
- j) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 2 and No. 3 Board Upon a motion made by Councilmember Downs and seconded by Councilmember Quintanilla, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Liz Lansing and Robert DeVries.
- k) Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone No. 5 Board Upon a motion made by Councilmember Horne and seconded by Councilmember Kehr, the Council voted 8-0 to reappoint Jeanine Cadena, Mashud Abukari, Doug Bender, Debra Farver, Ted Hong, and Douglas Reece.
- **Discussion and direction re: Arts Plan** (Discussed during the regular session)
- Community Relations Commission Grant Recommendations and Annual Action Plano for FY 2025-26
- Consent and Regular Agendas

Consent Agenda Items "L" and "R" were removed for individual consideration.

•	Council	items	for	discuss	ion	/action	on	future	agenda	S
---	---------	-------	-----	---------	-----	---------	----	--------	--------	---

With no further discussion, the Prelimin	nary Open Meeting adjourned at 6:56 p.m.
	John B. Muns, MAYOR
ATTEST:	
Lisa C. Henderson, CITY SECRETARY	